The Winkie's explained

Exclusively reserved for discussion regarding David Lynch's 'Mulholland Dr.'
Herb

The Winkie's explained

Postby Herb » 03 Jun 2015

(sorry for my poor english I’m french).

I'm not an expert on Lynch's work but I've some ideas about Mulholland drive.
There are some theories about this movie : the classical (dream/reality) and many others (dream/dream, reality/reality, fantasy/reality…)
All of these theories are based on suppositions, none has been proven.
I think there’s only one explanation of the film and that DL gave us enough clues to solve the puzzle.
According to me, there is a hidden key that provides the solution for the interpretation of the movie, and this key allows the choice of the true interpretation among those above.
So I was looking for a definitive explanation that could be scientifically proven.
By studying the movie I noticed that the winkie’s scene at the beginning seems to be unconnected to the rest of the film, except the fact that Diane sees Dan in that diner at the end of the movie. But I’ve never found any satisfactory explanation of this scene on the web (even on mulholland-drive.net!).
This scene seems so unrelated with previous and next sequences that I wonder if it could be used by Lynch to metaphorically provide to the viewer the explanation of the movie.
Therefore my intuition was that this scene at the beginning contains the main key of the film. So this scene needs to be deciphered.
And it's by deciphering this scene I found some interesting things that follow.

Deciphering of the scene :
You must listen carefully to what Dan says if you want to understand this scene (and the movie).
So listen !