aerial shots?

Exclusively reserved for discussion regarding David Lynch's 'Mulholland Dr.'
TaperChuck

aerial shots?

Postby TaperChuck » 16 Nov 2012

Longtime lover of this movie. It's my first time posting on this forum.

Can someone point me to discussions about the high aerial cityscape shots in Mulholland Drive? I'd like to know what significance they have.

ctyankee

Re: aerial shots?

Postby ctyankee » 22 Nov 2012

Welcome aboard!

I really don't remember much discussion. Obviously it's a rather short scene. I remember discussing the red objects seen from above ... but that's about it. Perhaps others will weigh in.

kmkmiller

Postby kmkmiller » 22 Nov 2012

ok. ok. you twisted my arm cause i'm the doofus who actually watched Mulholland Drive so many times i started noticing things like this.

if you pay attention to the wee wee tiny tiny ant sized cars criss crossing the streets of LA, you'll see they are all three distinct colors. White, red, and black. the colors of.......... The Black Lodge from Twin Peaks.

now i have misgivings about this because to the extent one actually notices such a thing is semi-probably unhealthy and pathological, and probably even just seeing what I want see anyway.

but i was comforted when someone else i forget who (not me, and unsolicited. HONEST!) noted the color of the cars you see parked on the side of the road when Adam drives up the road to meet The Cowboy. (still love the way Justin says "cowboy" in that half-hearted snide way like what the hell?? anyway..... Cowboy.... it's been that kind of a day)...

of course there's also blue boxes on the side of the road adam is driving on. In America those are what we normally call recycling bins, and they can be found on just about every street in America on a certain day each week. Ain't that a hoot, everyone in America has a blue box!!!!